Van Wert Civic Theatre

Congratulations to our award winners

Van Wert Civic Theatre officially wrapped up the 2017-18 season with our Annual Banquet and Awards.  Updates on the various theatre projects were given including an invitation to attend the youth production of Madagascar, Jr on June 21, 22, 23, and 24 and to audition for The True Story of Hey Diddle Diddle on June 24 and 25.  

Elected to three-year terms on the Board of Trustees were Keith Allen, Lisa Eichler, and Amy McConn.  

Being honored with the top award of the evening was Lisa Eichler who was presented with the Trustee Award.  Production of the year went to The Great American Trailer Park Musical.  Each show has an option to give a Company Choice Award. These awards are given by the director and/or cast.  The director determines how the choice will be made.  The award can be given for any contribution to the production that was meaningful.  

Gypsy Company Choice Award – Daileas Duclo

It’s A Wonderful Life: A Live Radio Play Company Choice Award  – Joe Maurer

Deathtrap Company Choice Award – Stan Lippi

The Great American Trailer Park Musical Company Choice Award – Mary Ann Falk

Love, Sex, and the IRS Company Choice Award – Alexis Gossett and Trent Gossett

And the final announcements of the evening were the awards for the productions.  Keep scrolling to read about each award.


Below is the listing of the awards ordered by production.  


Merit in Costuming – Ruth Ann Boley, Kristy Bidlack

Excellence in Ensemble – The Strippers: Amy Boley, Stacy Rife, Megan Ryan

Excellence in Direction – Jerry Zimmerman

Outstanding in Musical Performance – Mary Ann Falk

Outstanding in Acting – Mary Ann Falk


Merit in Set Design – Chad Kraner

Merit in Acting – Daniel Sanderson

Merit in Sound Effects – Travis Nihiser, Whitney Nihiser


Merit in Sound Design – Burdette Bolenbaugh

Excellence in Set Design – Chad Kraner, Matt Krol

Excellence in Acting – Amy McConn


Excellence in Wig Design – Mary Ann Falk

Excellence in Musical Direction – Dee Fisher

Excellence in Vocal Performance – Kristin Lee

Excellence in Vocal Performance – Kara Place

Excellence in Ensemble – The Girls: Kristin Lee, Kara Place, Stacy Rife

Excellence in Costuming – Kristy Bidlack, Jerry Zimmerman

Excellence in Vocal Performance – Nancy Shuffle

Excellence in Choreography – Jerry Zimmerman

Outstanding in Ensemble – The Cast

Outstanding in Vocal Performance – Mary Ann Falk

Outstanding in Set Design – Chad Kraner, Jerry Zimmerman

Outstanding in Set Decoration – Mary Ann Falk, Chad Kraner

Outstanding in Direction – Jerry Zimmerman


Merit in Acting – Jan Miller

Excellence in Acting – Amy McConn

Excellence in Acting – Steve Lane

Excellence in Direction – Randy Wieging

Excellence in Ensemble – The Cast

Outstanding in Acting – Chad Kraner